B. Des | Bachelor of Design

Programme Overview

  • Designing forms the crux of any product; it hence becomes pertinent that Design concepts are incorporated at the academic levels to ensure efficient products are developed to solve at least one layer of issues plaguing society. The Bachelors of Design (B.Des) academic programme, offered by CMR University’s School of Design, is a step in this regard.
  • The B.Des programme aims at equipping students with the various nuances/technology within the designing process and thereby cultivate students to become efficient designers to take up a plethora of projects at various levels of society.
  • A requisite for pursuing the B.Des programme is Creativity. Hence, students with a creative bent of mind could choose to explore various streams of design such as Jewellery Design, Fashion Design, Game Design, Design of Buildings among others. A bachelor’s degree programme – B.Des encompasses all these aspects thereby giving students a chance at pursuing an all-round Design education.
  • A degree in design – B.Des is considered equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in engineering thereby scope for graduates is immense. Graduates, also have significant opportunities to contribute to the “Make In India” cause, through their product designing skills.

Programme Duration

4 Years (8 Semesters)

Programme Type

Full Time

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates securing 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent from any recognized board with English as a mandatory subject.

For Admissions,

Choose CET Code E-245


Evaluation Criteria

The evaluation is based on the Continuous and Comprehensive evaluation(CCE)  and Term end examination (TEE). The CCE is done by the course teacher / teachers on a continuous basis through out the semester as prescribed for studio courses, theory courses and practical courses. The criteria for passing is a minimum of 50 percent in the CCE and 40 percent in TEE. The aggregate of CCE and TTE will form the basis for letter grades and the calculation of semester Grade Point Average (SGPA), and Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA).